The advantage of being married to a priest

I am fortunate to be married to a very wonderful woman. She is beautiful, intelligent, gentle, loving, and most importantly, godly. She is also a priest. Actually, all Christians are priests, regardless of their gender, or their formal position in the church. The Apostle Peter wrote this:

you also, like living stones, are being built into a spiritual house to be a holy priesthood, offering spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ. (I Peter 2:5)

And again:

 But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light (I Peter 2:9).

The reason why God chose my wife as a priest, was so that she could minister before God. Whenver she prays or does good works she is able to offer spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ. Because of Christ’s death on the cross she is able to have direct access to God. She is God’s special possession, tasked with the job of declaring the praises of him who caller her out of the darkness into his wonderful light.

In addition to praising God and sacrificing to God, she also has the ability to make intercession for others. That is, she can pray to God for forgiveness and strength for her friends. By “friends” of course, I especially mean her best friend–me! Because she is God’s priest God hears her prayers when she asks Him to forgive me for my failings and help me become stronger. I have discovered that this is a huge advantaged to my spiritual life. Of course my wife is not the only priest that I know. Every true believer I know is a priest, and they are capable of supplicating God on my behalf. But none of the others know me as well as my wife does, and is aware of my spiritual needs the way that she is. My wife is intimate with me. I am able to tell her things about myself that would be awkward, perhaps even inappropriate and sinful for me to tell anyone else. I have learned to trust her even with my deepest secrets because she is both gentle and godly, able and willing to rebuke me when I am wrong, but forgive me for my weaknesses. Thus it is relatively easy for me to keep the command of the James:

Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective (James 5:16 NIV).

Sadly, there are some Christians who do not know the joy of having someone else pray for their sins. We are often tempted not to tell anyone else when we have done wrong, but simply confess our sins to God privately. Yes, we are each priests, and thus have direct access to God’s throne, but God commands us to not be “lone rangers” when it comes to confessing our sins, we should also enlist the help of others to pray for us too. I have personally seen that God sometimes gives me better blessings when I ask my wife to pray for me than when I am simply praying for myself.

For a Christian, deciding who to marry is an important decision. You are not only deciding who to spend the rest of your life with, but you are also picking your personal priest. Make sure that she is worth it. Do not, if you can help it, go through life with someone that cannot be trusted to pray for you. If you do, you are missing out on one of the greatest benefits of Christian marriage.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Christianity, Culture, Faith, God, Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

