Praise Music Should Be More Than Pure Emotion

So what shall I do? I will pray with my spirit, but I will also pray with my understanding; I will sing with my spirit, but I will also sing with my understanding. (I Corinthians 14:15 NIV)

Christians are supposed to be content with what God gives us in life. We are supposed to greet each day with thanksgiving, and worship God with cheerfulness.

Nevertheless, worship is more than simply a happy feeling for emotion. Worship must be based on fact. In the passage above the Apostle says that it is not good enough to sing only with his spirit, he is determined to also sing with his understanding. True worship of God is based on a clear understanding of what He has done for us. When Christians worship God will are not simply singing meaningless tunes to a generic “greater power,” we are singing deliberate songs of praise to the one true God, Yahweh of the Old Testament, who sent His Son Jesus Christ to die on the cross for our sins. We are thanking Him specifically for redeeming us from our wickedness and sanctifying us so that we can spend eternity with Him in heaven. If we sing songs that do not have clear meaning in their words we might not really be worshiping God at all.

This entry was posted in Christianity, Culture, Faith, God, Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

