I Do Not Know If Mother Teresa Was A Good Person

There is no question that Mother Teresa did a lot of good things while she lived on Earth. She lived a very frugal life while working to help others. It would indeed be good if there were more people who did the kind of things that she did. And yet, I can’t say for sure that she was a good person who pleased God with her actions. Here is why:

 If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing. (I Corinthians 13:3 NIV)

The reason why I don’t know if mother Teresa was a good person is because I don’t know what motivated her to do all her good deeds. You see, I Didn’t know her personally. Neither am I God, that I can see inside her soul. therefore, I don’t know what made her tick. I don’t know what compelled her to do all those nice things for people.

Doing good things for other people does not necessarily make me a good person, if I do not do them for the right reason. It is possible for you to give all you possess to the poor and still not have love. You see, sometimes people give to the poor without really caring for them. They only give and sacrifice so that they will look like a good person. They are motivated by the attention they get for doing what is right, not by a genuine concern for those who are hurting. Which category did mother Teresa fall into? I don’t personally know. I hope she falls into the first category.

All people, including Mother Teresa, are by nature sinners. We can only become good people when we repent of our sins and believe in Jesus Christ for salvation. Then God forgives us of our sins, imputes the righteousness of Christ to us, and gives us the ability to minister to others out of love and not selfishness. A lot of people try to bribe God with their acts of goodness, without really repenting of their sins. They don’t really care about God, or about the people that they are donating their time to, they simply are trying to prove their own goodness by doing things that they know others will praise them for. But a true believer will do good especially when it doesn’t get noticed. They are not doing good in order to bribe their way into heaven, they do good out of genuine gratitude to God for already saving them. Only those who truly love God can love others, and vice versa.

 

This entry was posted in Blogging, church, Culture, Faith, God, Inspiration, Random, Random Thoughts, Religion. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Do Not Know If Mother Teresa Was A Good Person

  1. What I have read about Mother Theresa indicates that she had a deep love for God. Those she helped she saw as helping Jesus. She also was not afraid to speak the truth to people in authority even though it wasn’t politically correct. She had one master, nothing else mattered. I often thought it was too bad she died the same week as Princess Diana because the media was so taken up with Diana that not much was said about Mother Theresa. Somehow I think she would have wanted it that way.

    • schildan10 says:

      Yes, I remember that week. She was a very sweet woman. I certainly don’t know of anything bad to say about her, nor would I want to tarnish her memory. The reason I’m “picking” on her is because her good deeds are so obvious that it is easy for us to idolize her visible accomplishments and forget about the inward love for others and a close relationship with God that is necessary in genuine holiness. I am glad that you have seen evidence of such love in the things you have read about her. I am not critical of mother Teresa; I am critical of my own human heart that is tempted to set her outward actions as an artificial gauge of my own holiness.

Leave a Reply

