Christians need to put a lot of effort into self-discipline.

Therefore I run in such a way, as not without aim; I box in such a way, as not beating the air; 27 but I [l]discipline my body and make it my slave, so that, after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified. (I Corinthians 9:26-27 NIV)

The Bible teaches that it is important for Christian preachers to “practice what they preach.” In fact, all of us are preachers to an extent, that is, we are supposed to tell others about God and His saving grace. But if we live like unregenerated sinners, than our preaching has no value. We need to discipline our lives according to our message so that we are not disqualified. We need to strive, by God’s grace to bring all things under control: our sex drives, our appetites, our social lives, so that we are living to please God by serving others.

 

This entry was posted in Blogging, church, Culture, God, Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

