Preachers and Ministers Have The Right To Innocent Comforts

Many times Christians are overly critical and judgmental of the lifestyle decisions that ministers and preachers make. They accused them of being “sinful” or “worldly,” for choosing to possess the same physical comforts that other Christians possess. This double standard is wrong. What is OK for the man in the pew is OK for the man in the pulpit as well. It may be true that a minister needs to hold himself to a higher standard, but we, as critics in the stands, should NOT, hold him to a higher standard. We must let him make decisions for himself. We should hold all Christians to the SAME standard, only criticizing others for committing real, not supposed sins. If it is OK for a member of the congregation to own a fancy house, then we should not start an inssurrection against a preacher for owning a fancy house. If it is OK for churchmembers to not wear a suit and tie in church, then we should not slander a preacher for not wearing a suit and tie in church. I am not saying that church leaders should not be sensitive to these things; I am simply saying that we, as their friends and fellow brothers in Christ, should not judge them, since God is their judge. It is not my place to rebuke my pastor for the kind of car he drives, or the clothes he wears, as long as they are not so gaudy as to clearly violate the Biblical commands of modesty. Rather, I will criticize my paster if he preaches heresy or commits real sin. But I will not be constantly looking for made up sins to accuse him of. I must never apply a higher standard to another Christian–including a pastor–than I do to myself.

 This is my defense to those who would examine me. Do we not have the right to eat and drink? Do we not have the right to take along a believing wife,[a] as do the other apostles and the brothers of the Lord and Cephas? Or is it only Barnabas and I who have no right to refrain from working for a living? Who serves as a soldier at his own expense? Who plants a vineyard without eating any of its fruit? Or who tends a flock without getting some of the milk? (I Corinthians 9:3-7 NIV)

This entry was posted in Christianity, church, Culture, Faith, God, Personal, Random, rants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

