Jesus Stands At The Door And Knocks

Those whom I love I rebuke and discipline. So be earnest and repent. 20 Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with that person, and they with me. (Revelation 2:19-20)

Verse 20 is often used in evangelism to urge unbelievers to turn to Christ. There is a debate among Bible-believing Christians as to whether or not this verse can be legitimately used in evangelism, since it is addressed specifically to a church, not to the world at large. My opinion is that it can and probably should be used for evangelism. I do not think that this verse was not directed only at the congregation in Laodicea, but to human beings everywhere. I believe that the “anyone” used here means anyone in the world, not just anyone in the church of Laodicea. This is consistent with the verses in the Bible that say that God wants all people to repent and be saved (II Peter 3:9, I Timothy 2:4).

 

This entry was posted in Christianity, church, Faith, God, Random, Random Thoughts, Religion, Spirituality, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

