Men should ALWAYS treat their wives with respect

“Husbands, in the same way be considerate as you live with your wives, and treat them with respect as the weaker partner and as heirs with you of the gracious gift of life, so that nothing will hinder your prayers.” (I Peter 3:7)

Most women are physically weaker than most men. And they are more emotional too, which means that it is (usually) easier for them to get their feelings hurt.

Some men think this is funny. They make jokes with their buddies at the bar about how “wimpy” women are, implying, of course, that they are inferior to men.

I have two things I want to say about this. First of all, women are not wimps. Many women face their problems and responsibilities better than men do, and end up raising their children alone while the man runs away in a panic. And of course, women are strong enough to survive childbirth, which in and of itself is a statement to their inner strength.

My second point is that men should admire women for being different, not make fun of them. The reason why women were created physically and emotionally different than men is so that they could undertake the noble and important task of nurturing children. They would not be good mothers if they were as clumsy and inconsiderate as most men! God gifted them to be the best friend and mentor of the youngest human beings.

Women are not inferior to men. But they do have different primary gifts and responsibilities. Men need to always respect and honor their wives and sacrifice themselves for them. They must never ridicule them, but should make them feel special, because they ARE special!

I am thankful that God gave me my wife. She gives me strength and love when I feel weak, and I try to do the same for her as best I can. I don’t know where I’d be without her.

This entry was posted in Culture, Faith, God, Spirituality and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

