Christian Wives Should Submit To Their Husbands

This post may seem a little bit self-serving. Here I am, a married man, blogging about how women should submit to their husbands. So I want to start by saying that the intended audience for this article is not my own wife! Katie loves and respects me a lot more than I deserve. Her patience with me and love for me keep me going everyday when other things in my life make me discouraged.

The real reason why I am posting this article is because I am blogging through the book of I Peter and this is the next verse that came up. I cannot ignore it just because it’s politically incorrect. Here is what it says:

“Wives, in the same way submit yourselves to your own husbands so that, if any of them do not believe the word, they may be won over without words by the behavior of their wives,” (I Peter 3:1 NIV)

This verse is telling Christian women to show their husbands respect and submit to their authority. This is not because their husbands are better and smarter than them. In fact, this verse seems to be meant especially for women with “bad” husbands. The reason this verse gives them why they must submit is because they love their husbands. They want their husbands to change and repent of their sins, and the best way for them to get their husbands to change is by showing them love and submission. This is a much better strategy than scolding their husbands and finding fault with them.

This verse is especially helpful, I think, for Muslim women who convert to Christianity. It shows them how to relate to their Muslim husbands: Submit! If he tells you to wear a veil, then wear one. If he tells you to stay in the house all day, do it. Why? Because you love him. There is a chance he might be persuaded to convert by your example and his soul will be saved.

Ultimately, of course, all Christians need to learn how to submit to authority. Our ultimately role model for submitting to authority, even corrupt authority, is Jesus Himself (I Peter 2:21-25).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

