Fellow Christians: Let’s not talk like “ignorant foolish people” during this election year

“Submit yourselves for the Lord’s sake to every human authority: whether to the emperor, as the supreme authority, 14 or to governors, who are sent by him to punish those who do wrong and to commend those who do right. 15 For it is God’s will that by doing good you should silence the ignorant talk of foolish people.” (I Peter 2:13-15)

I think that true Christians need to be more guarded in what they say about politics. It is easy for us to become overheated and make inappropriate comments about our elected leaders. We need to have a positive, respectful attitude when we talk about our government, regardless of how corrupt it is.

I am not saying that we should ignore our government’s flaws. We are privileged to live in a country where we are free to critique the government and vote for whom ever we want. Let us not abuse that privilege. Let us communicate our political views in a way that is completely free of malice.

I know that I myself am perhaps the worst offender. I am not writing this article because I think I am better than anyone else. I am writing this article because it needs to be written. Us Christians naturally care about politics because we love our country and don’t want to see bad things happen to it. Therefore we must be careful to always speak about our nation’s leaders in a way that shows we love them.

We have no license to hate anyone.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

