There Are Many Times We Who Are Christians Should Let Ourselves Be Cheated

I think that one of the signs of a good, moral, society is that its laws are fair so that it is difficult for someone in that society to get rich by cheating or swindling. We as Christians have a responsibility to stand for fairness and justice. We should never help someone swindle another person out of money and we should stand up for others when they are being unfairly taken advantage of.

However, there are times in are own lives when we should stop arguing with other people and let ourselves be cheated. A typical example would be a contract dispute over work already rendered. What should we do if someone who has done work on our house stubbornly insists on being paid at an hourly rate much higher than what was used to calculate their estimate beforehand? Should we sue them, or should we let the matter go? If we do not have enough money to pay them we may be forced to sue. However, if we can, it is usually better to let them win. Jesus said:

“But I tell you, do not resist an evil person. If anyone slaps you on the right cheek, turn to them the other cheek also. 40And if anyone wants to sue you and take your shirt, hand over your coat as well.” (Matthew 5:39-40)

Jesus’ advice for situations like this is pretty straightforward. He says that we should let the other guy win, even if he is not being fair. It is better for us to be cheated by someone else than to run the risk that we may accidentally end up cheating them. We should err on the side of caution in terms of morality and make sure that we are the victims and not the aggressors.  We should resolve the dispute cheerfully, even when it ends up hurting us financially. Perhaps by showing this kind of love to others we will be able to lead them to the cross.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to There Are Many Times We Who Are Christians Should Let Ourselves Be Cheated

  1. eliezer40 says:

    This is a very good post. I agree with it, and I’m sure I’d have an issue following it. It will be, or is, a very hard thing for me to do – allowing myself to be cheated. For instance, Verizon tried charging me 500+ dollars for something I didn’t buy. I argued about it for three months before they finally allowed me to speak to a manager. Got it down to the 11 dollars owed… But, you are probably right in that I should have just let it go.

  2. schildan10 says:

    I can’t say I would have done any different. I have done similar things for smaller amounts of money. So yes, I AM a hypocrite. However, I just don’t see anyway around Jesus’ words here. I think He really meant us to accept injustice in order to be an example of meekness and humility. So I’ll try to do better next time….

Leave a Reply

